Are you waiting?

What do I want to be when I grow up? Do I even have to grow up? I know I’m getting older. We all are. Am I getting any wiser? These are some questions of the ages.

I’m currently reading a book called Start by Jon Acuff. Basically it says (as far as I’ve read) that you need to get started on the road to awesome by living with purpose rather than trying to find out your purpose in life. Opportunity does not come to those who are waiting. “Purpose is attracted to motion. Purpose is attracted to momentum. Purpose loves to surprise you mid-stride.” Start. In a previous work incarnation there was a lumber store right across from the coffee shop I stopped at most every morning before heading into the office. They had someone (or maybe the whole staff, I never went in) who posted interesting sayings on their sign board weekly. One of my favorites posted more than 10 years ago went something like: Changing directions while standing still means you’re going in circles. Did I listen? Sort of. I did say it was a previous work incarnation.

Stop trying to find a purpose. Live with purpose and see what comes along. You might be surprised. Even better, you might surprise yourself. Just because you don’t know where you’re going to end up, doesn’t mean that you shouldn’t start. (How’s that for a double negative?? Acuff actually says it better.)

What am I waiting for? What are you waiting for?

Leave a Reply

