7, 14, 30?

More on the “what are you waiting for theme”…

I read. A lot. Sometimes I learn new things, sometimes I don’t. I’m currently in the mode of where do I want to be in 1 year, 5 years, 10 years, etc. It comes from just passing a mid-year. I still have a corporate brain for the annual review even though I don’t work for “AmeriCorp” any longer. For a lot of people putting things in the perspective of trying to do something for a whole year, or even trying to change a habit for a new goal or resolution is hard. Most people cannot conceive of doing something for that long. They only see the hardship and the journey, rather than focusing on what can be done here and now. Think AA – get through the next minute, hour, day. Once you do that then work on tomorrow. I’m one of those people who when they decide to do something they want it NOW. Do you know anyone like that? Uh-huh, raise those hands. Who out there really is patient enough to work through something or set long term goals and make sure they get them done? Some people are successful at that, and good for them. I, however, am not one of them.

So I always am open for a “new” way to do things, even if it is an old way. Periodically I browse around the web and find myself somewhere I never expected to be. This time I ended up on Steve Pavlina’s website. If you’ve never heard of him, well, welcome to my club. Its theme is “Personal Development for Smart People”. I started out reading a blog about goals and personality and found a link to something he wrote ages ago that might be of use. I might have to modify it a bit, but here goes: You can do anything for 30 days. Ok, 30 days might be a bit much for me, but what if I took a more AA-like approach and worked it for a week. I can do anything for 7 days. It might not be long enough to see any benefits from it, specifically if I picked the diet ones as there is usually a 10-14 day detox involved. Now here is my thinking: if I manage to get through the 7 days, would I be more or less likely to continue having gotten that far into it? I can easily see the jump from 7 to 14. And then 14 to 30. Once you’ve already committed that much time to something it makes sense to continue, doesn’t it? Depends on what it is, I know. I am working with a presupposition that whatever I am attempting to do will be good for me, not bad.

Besides, what’s most likely to happen? I learn something? More importantly I learn something about myself?? Write on.

Leave a Reply

