Decision Time

Yet another on the “what are you waiting for” theme . . .

We make decisions all the time. Anywhere from at least one to hundreds a day: what to wear, what to eat, how to get to work, etc. All of these decisions are made in a heartbeat and we go merrily (hopefully) about our lives. Most people don’t even consider these decisions, but they are. When it comes to the bigger questions of life, why do we shy away from a decision?

“I’ll do it someday.”

“I don’t have any time.”

“Maybe I’ll get it done later.”

These are excuses we’ve all used. There are hundreds more, but most have the same theme: I’m not doing it now. My question is why not?

I have many different calendars. I keep track of work schedules, school schedules, even my spouse’s schedule on occassion, and various other things like birthdays and holidays. You know what I’ve noticed? Each of them has the same seven days, and nowhere on it do I find a “someday”. Someday never comes for most people because they aren’t really committed to making anything happen. Can you do something for 7 days? 14? How about 30? Someday is something that I no longer want to wait for. I’ve spent the last 20+ years looking for someday and it hasn’t shown up yet. I have lots of practicing to do on my craft. So my someday has changed to today.

But you aren’t like me, you don’t have any time. You know what? We all have the same 24 hours in a day. We each have the have-to list and the want-to list. Take the biggest blocks, calendar them and then ensure that you make time for your dream. If it’s 20 minutes here and 30 minutes there, make the time. Schedule it. Turn off the e-mail and the phone. Guard this time as your personal space. If <insert important person here> wanted to meet with you for 20 minutes out of your life, you’d block out the time and make sure there were no distractions, right? Take this time for yourself.

There are so many things wrong with “maybe I’ll get it done later” that it is hard to know where to start. So we begin at the beginning: maybe. You’re not even giving yourself a break here. You’ve already sabotaged yourself with admitting that you might not do it. Give yourself a chance. Take the maybe out. So then when is later? Tomorrow? Next week? Next month? What is so all-consuming in your life that you cannot carve out some time to work on your dream? To quote Chris Guillebeau, “if you don’t take decisive action, nothing will ever change.”

Make a decision for yourself. Write on.

Leave a Reply

