What’s on your mind?

Sometimes someone says something that just hits you in the gut. You know that you cannot say it better.  (For the sake of obviousness, she’s published, I am not. Yet.)

I was thirty years old before I learned how to learn things. Nobody has ever taught me. Either I could do things or I couldn’t, and there was never anybody who explained to me that no, you have to study. You have to fail. And keep failing better (and trying different things and researching and stuff) until you’re not failing any more.

It was writing novels that taught me this, by the way. Because I never could. And then eventually I just kept trying long enough and did. Then I wrote four more, and sold one.

Reader, I had an epiphany. Stuff doesn’t just happen or not happen. I mean, some of it does. But some of it happens because you keep doing hard things long enough to learn the knack of it, and then it’s less hard.

Writing novels is exactly the same thing as running thirteen miles, or doing a headstand, or learning how to cook.

And I’m better at this stuff at 41 than I was at 14. It’s amazing how useful it is to know how to learn things.

http://www.elizabethbear.com/?p=1720

The more I learn, the more I realize I don’t know. Write on.

Leave a Reply

