A-Musing

Are you muse driven? Do you have a tendency to wait for the muse to come and give you a swift kick to get to work? Discipline is the name of the game when it comes to trying to get something longer than a short story, article or blog post written. You have to show up and put in the time to get to “The End” when it comes to novel length fiction.

As you’ve probably guessed, I’m still in the learning curve of writing. I always hope to be learning no matter where I am in my journey. So I read all kinds of writing books regardless of genre, author, level or whatever other criteria anyone wants to apply. I came across this while reading The Writer’s Digest Guide to Science Fiction & Fantasy, (or non-ebook) by Orson Scott Card.

Don’t wait for a muse to strike and force you to your typewriter. Such events are rare—in my experience, muses tend to strike those who are at the keyboard typing their brains out, not those who are playing video games in the basement.

I don’t happen to be writing Science Fiction at the moment, but this is in the Science Fiction Section under “The Life and Business of Writing.” As I said, I’m always reading hoping to learn something. I found it amusing and good advice for those waiting to be inspired.

Open yourself to the muse or at least give it the opportunity to strike you. Get thee to a keyboard and write. Write on.

Leave a Reply

