Flounder or Prioritize?

Do you flounder through your day? Do you have a to-do list? Is it so long that you wonder how you can possibly get it all done? Do you carry things over day-to-day and never seem to make any progress? We all face this whether it’s daily or only at certain points in our lives. I won’t even go into how long my list is at the moment. I know I cannot possibly get it all done, not in a timely manner that is because some of these things are not just big, but HUGE projects. So what am I to do?

I came across a chapter in Jon Acuff’s book Start that deals specifically with a 5 step process for getting it all done that has really worked for me:

  1. Admit that you can’t possibly get it all done.
  2. Give yourself the grace to accept that as a reality, not failure.
  3. Do the things you can do with your full attention.
  4. Celebrate what happens in step 3 instead of obsessing over the things you didn’t get to.
  5. Repeat as necessary.

There are a myriad of systems for trying to get through the things that you need to do, but sometimes you just have to get to what you can get to and let the rest wait until you have more time. Where this is helpful is being sure that you are spending time on what truly is important rather than everything that comes along. What are your priorities? Is that where you’ve been spending your time?

Recently I’ve had to re-evaluate what my priorities are. I wasn’t spending time where I needed to be. I’m working on resolving that. Stop floundering and prioritize. Write on.

Leave a Reply

