Passion

candlesSweet intoxication. The new idea that charms its way into your thoughts and makes you feel invincible. Driven you run to the computer, tablet, stone & chisel and start working on this new masterpiece. But soon the attraction fades. You stumble. The words are harder to come by and you yearn for the nectar of the idea that was. Larry Brooks puts it best in Story Physics (p 100):

In fact, your passion for a story, the very thing you might believe is your biggest asset going into the writing, might instead be silently, insidiously overwhelming it to the point of smothering the story entirely. It’s like a lover who drowns you in affection yet gives you nothing that you need.

Ever done this before? I have. Too many times to count. The idea is seductive, but in my case the idea is not a premise. I need more than an idea to work with when I’m trying to tell a story. Ideas are possibilities, premises are foundations. I’m working hard to ensure that I have the focus I need to succeed with this story. I love this story. I’m passionate about what it is, who it’s about, and how it’s going to get to a reader. In order to do that, I’m focusing that passion to give me something I need: a plan. I set a goal of when I’d start writing this tale. I beat it out by a whole month. For the first time, I feel like the story has a chance.

What is your passion for your story? Is it working for you or is it smothering you? Write on.

Leave a Reply

