I’m not a Superhero

from celebrityplanet.comIt sounds silly when you write it out like that. Of course I’m not a superhero. I can’t do everything. We get so caught up in our daily lives that are filled with Have-To’s versus Want-To’s. And a lot of the time we feel like we have to do it all. I’ve come to the conclusion that I cannot do it all.

Are you a list maker? Do you ever make it to the end of your list? You’re a rarity if you do. Most people have more things to do in one day than can get done. When I make lists and I finally end up crossing something off I generally have something else to add to it. It’s a never ending cycle.

So what can be done to mitigate that? Priorities. I set up my day so that I get the Most Important things done first. If I do that and get those crossed off my list all the rest is bonus because I feel like I’ve done something worthwhile that day. You know what happens on the days that I don’t do that? I feel completely rotten. (And sometimes I take it out on those unlucky individuals around me.) Do I have anyone to blame but myself? Nope. Does this work every day? Nope. But it works out better most days and sometimes that is all we can ask for.

Life is organic. It comes and it goes. Sometimes we are so busy we cannot see the end of the road. Sometimes we float. All I can do to control my day is make sure the important stuff gets done first. And you know what? The important stuff can change from day to day. This is why we call it life. Today my Important Stuff is complete. What have you done today? Write on.

Leave a Reply

