Beyond Passion

What is it that you are passionate about? I mean the things that get your blood boiling and you just have to do something, even if it is wrong? Do you know what it is?

I thought I knew. I’ve come up against some things recently that have made me more introspective about what I am thinking and feeling. It wasn’t any one thing or occurrence that happened. It was more an accumulation of things. Is this good or bad? I don’t know yet. At this point, it just is.

When it comes to my writing, it is affecting my current story line. What I thought I knew about my characters has evolved. I am not sure I like it yet, but I am continuing on with it. I do know that it will affect what I’ve already written so there is editing that will have to happen. Shocking, I know. Gasp, it’s NOT perfect! Writing books, blogs, teachers, workshops say you must have passion for what you write. I think I’ve lost a part of that.

I write a lot about motivation because I am unpublished (at least outside of academia.) What can I offer about writing tips and tricks? Just the things I’ve done, learned and experienced myself. I am no writing expert. I just do it. Motivation is big for me. It gets me excited and makes me want to do things. I also hope that it works for others. The beauty of it is that we are all different and something that doesn’t motivate one person will completely get someone else moving. That is passion. I believe I have moved from the passion stage and into the work phase.

Have you found your passion? Write on.

Leave a Reply

